So! My game design has a new freestyle assignment

Freestyle II, I can make a game of my choice in unity as long as it follows guidelines

For the previous Freestyle, I made a little platformer with melee combat (it was not good)

I learned my lesson on scope creep (I think), but this one has a couple more requirements, namely in interaction and putting more focus on

GAMEPLAY ASPECTS

Since I already made a platformer though, I'd need to go another genre; to which I say :

Top down.

My current plan is to recreate something like Journey of the Prairie King from Stardew Valley with a couple tweaks here and there to fit the assignment better.

The player would be able to move and shoot, get hurt, and die, maybe blocking if I can't think of more interactions

This is still a very early concept, most likely I'll turn it into an endless game with upgrades and scaling enemies to give it a bit of a challenge and power fantasy feel

who knows? we'll see!

Thanks for reading the first entry of this devlog! The next post will come once I finish some initial coding and have gotten a stronger idea of the game and aesthetic goals