We have achieved

MOVEMENT (and aiming)

Ok so I have the player character fully animated (with a gun), next up is being able to shoot it.

But before that I suppose a bit more planning is in order; that being some aesthetic goals I want to hit here

Currently I'm thinking about hitting some aspects that endless games and roguelites have

which is that sense of building up to a power fantasy (I'll most likely include those as maybe permanent powerups/upgrades such as firerate) while maybe having some aspects of increasing challenge with scaling enemy numbers, maybe with two enemy types (one melee, the other able to shoot) to keep the power fantasy in check while still giving the player more targets to blast away at

overall I should meet these if there are enough/strong enough enemies to keep players alert but also making the player strong enough overtime to kill more things

do have to be careful that the game doesn't get toooo difficult or tooo easy to undermine either part (easier difficulty should be fine in the later stage of the game?)

While the game first started out thinking as simple as journey of the prarie king, this is moving a little more towards top down roguelites like nuclear throne

Either way, thanks for reading! The next entry will most likely be when I add shooting and more brainstorming will happen by then!